Odd Energy

It was the oddest thing, but yesterday I got a surge of energy.  I used it to take those ten minutes in a day that I have been denying myself to meditate.  It really is the most simple of things but so easy to put at the bottom of the list, even when I know it makes me feel better I still have issues making myself a priority in my day-if that makes sense.

After a frustrating session (you do get rusty on breaks) I did a few things around the house with a feeling of intention for starting and completing tasks. This carried over to communication; texts and emails were answered. Kudra even sent me a email about free online classes for a subject very near to my heart. And then I actually blogged! Holiday cards were addressed and laundry taken care of and in such purposeful way that it wasn’t like I just floated for one task to another.

Later I went to the gym, did my 10k steps on various equipment. I think I even got an endorphin rush.

I finished up the afternoon by “helping” my neighbor Meryl socialize her new (hopefully) puppy by going to a Starbuck’s and pretty much asking people to come pet the puppy while I sipped on a holiday coffee.

IMG_2239.jpg

Imagine a person coming up to you and asking, “Would you do me a favor and pet this puppy?”

And I am wondering what caused the surge.  Could it be the meditation to the endorphin rush?  Maybe the healthy food?  Or maybe it was just the cute puppy above… All I know is it was an odd energy that I haven’t had in a while.

Then this morning I read an entry from one of the blogs I follow (and you should too). Liz mentioned that there was something in the cosmos that began three years ago, Winter 2012 and now it is coming to an end. And while that idea frightens me slightly, I am wondering if it will be a good thing for me.

In Winter of 2012 I was packing up our house and planning to move across country to a place I had never been. We knew for a few months it could happen, but we didn’t want to tell anyone until it was a sure thing.  I think that is where my habit of introversion took root.

After the move and some of the company we kept or rather did not keep, I felt my little shy, obedient side coming out and ruling more of my life. It has been struggle to find my voice again and my sass, but through some situations and people in the last year I have been able to get it back.  But really the last two months I have been feeling quite different.

I noticed I didn’t blog as much the last three years, which sucks because so many new things happened that I really did not record properly and I worry that I have lost those initial thoughts forever. I’m not going to make any big promises of blogging, but I want you to know the intention is there.

So I am hoping that this odd energy is maybe just a little Retro-Melly coming out to take a look around.

Have a wonderful weekend everyone and enjoy the New Moon tonight.

4 thoughts on “Odd Energy

  1. I followed you over from Liz’s blog post. I really loved what you had to say there and feel it a lot as well. I definitely have a voice of my own, but I don’t feel like I’ve been using it to really speak from the heart, so I’m working on that too. I hope you are coming back to yourself. Wouldn’t that be nice for you? 🙂

    • Thank you. It can be so scary to use that voice, but I’ve found it brings you closer to what and who you want in this life. I hope your heart forms a well beaten path to your voice. 🙂

  2. I love the surge of energy that you are feeling right now. How exciting is that? It does seem to me to signify that there is a transition, a change occurring. I am so humbled that my blog post may have helped you to process this feeling, if even a little bit. Wow. How cool is this blogging community?! Wishing you continued energy, and continues intuition as you explore where you are headed next. And, I love a good blog post that talks about intentions! 🙂 Happy weekend to you! xo

    • It is very exciting and I am trying to embrace it, rather than analyze it away. Thank you for putting such wonderful words and thoughts into the world, I think it does make a difference. And good luck to you in your new endeavor and adventures!

Leave a Reply

