Chocolate Pot de Crème

A day late, but as I hope you will find, worth the wait.  Here is the recipe I used for the Chocolate Pot de Creme.

This is out of (surprisingly) one of my favorite and most used cookbooks, The Better Home & Garden Cookbook.  I have a few adjustments as per usual.  First of all I found using the double-boiler method when heating the chocolate and cream worked better for preserving as much chocolate mixture as possible and excess elbow grease from the cleaning and soaking I had to the first time I tried this recipe.  I also use stainless steel pots so they can be a little trickier when it comes to heating. I also recommend using the yummiest chocolate you have and maybe using a little bit more than 6 oz of it (maybe-7 to 8).

This recipe can also be divided in half quite easily if you are not entertaining for 8.

Chocolate Pot de Crème

Prep: 10 minutes Cook: 10 minutes  Chill: 4 hours to 24 hours

Makes: 8-ish servings

Ingredients:

2 Cups Whipping Cream

6-8 oz  Semisweet Chocolate, coarlsey chopped.

(I used Ghirardelli’s Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips 60% Cacao and I didn’t chop them up)

1/3 Cup Sugar

4 Beaten Egg Yolks

1 tsp Vanilla

1. In a medium heavy saucepan combine whipping crew, chocolate, and sugar.  Cook and stir over medium heat about 10 minutes or until mixture comes to a full boil and thickens.

2. Gradually stir all of the hot mixture into the beaten yolks; stir in vanilla.  Divide chocolate into 8 sake cups, small cups, or small 3 oz ramekins*.

3. Cover and chill for 4 to 24 hours before serving. Place garnish before serving.

4. Listen to all the ooh and ahhs as you family or guest gobble them down.

* I used 10 oz ramekins to leave room for fruit or other garnishes like peeled chocolate.

Chocolate Pot de Creme

Leave a Reply

