George R.R. Martin No Longer Haunts My Dreams

A few weeks ago I finished the first draft of my novel!  I know the battle is far from over, but the mere thought that there is actually a completed story (albeit full of typing and grammatical errors) is out of my head and on my recently backed up computer, is an unique feeling that I hope to repeat again and again.

The End, well sort-of

The End, well sort-of

I’ve read that it’s best to let the first draft rest for a while before you start editing.  I decided to wait a few weeks and let my husband read the first draft before I began digging back into it.  He was honest, though probably sugar coated it a bit.  He gave me some good feedback and some things to think about in my rewrites.  But the one thing I really wanted his opinion on was the ending.  Did he like it?  When he watches movies or reads a book he can enjoy the story to a point, but if he is unsatifisied with the ending the journey to it is completely ruined for him. Thankfully he liked the ending of my book. Phew!

Editing is a whole different game than writing.  When you write you can highlight and underline something that doesn’t feel right and tell yourself you’ll come back to it later.  In editing you actually have to find a way to fix it.  I think I’m going to need my own personal electric tea kettle to get through this step.

Besides checking Write A Novel off my list, I have been keeping busy with more house projects and visiting with friends.  We got a chance to go out to the coast a few weeks back and I met the Atlantic for the first time.  We went out there to see our friends Kudra and Porter, but more on that next time.  We’ve been seeing a lot of Poppy and Guac and now that they’re settled into their home we are having fun trading off hosting duties.  A local friend had a baby and I have been visiting her every so often.  Our garden is coming alive and we have enjoyed fresh greens for many meals.  Mustard leaves are great for you but be sure to keep a handkerchief nearby if you have a salad with that as the main green.  Spicy! But at least it cleared out the sinuses, which I need all the help I can get this time of year.

 

 

9 thoughts on “George R.R. Martin No Longer Haunts My Dreams

  1. Congratulations!! I know KNOW an author personally – awesome. 🙂 Best of luck with the editing process…..mayhap a kauwfee talk will help? 😉 I’ll email you later.

    • Thanks Red! I think a Kauwfee Twalk is in order, just for the hell of it too. I was bummed we couldn’t have a reunion in person, hopefully you and Octana haven’t run out of things to talk about for our next chat. Haha, like that could happen 😉

  2. Congratulations! What is your book about? I agree about endings being tough- as a reader I find many endings to be unsatisfying, like the author just ran out of steam and tried to quickly tie it all together.
    I grew up on the east coast and saw the west coast for the first time last year- they’re quite different. Both nice, but different.

    • Thank you! The book is about a young woman who is trying to get her footing in her adult life. She’s held the same positions in her family, social, and work life for a long time but due to changing circumstances she is forced to reexamine those roles. Along with her family (some more than others) she is occupied with the care of her Grandmother, the very strong and opinionated matriarch of the family who has Alzheimer’s. With this she is also trying to balance a demanding job and keep what is left of her friendships alive.
      Yes story endings are difficult, the timing often seems rushed while parts of the books seem to go on forever.
      I liked the Atlantic, even though it was an ugly day but yes very different than the Pacific.

  3. Congrats. And I totally understand the issue of having to fix the character or plot holes you knew you committed in the first draft. When I’m editing I spend a lot of time walking my dog, thinking of ways to correct the mistakes. Editing is a pain, but it can be invigorating when it’s coming together.

Leave a Reply

