NH Tip: Citrus On Hand

Since moving to the East Coast we have had a few issues with stocking fresh citrus.  A few of my favorite dishes call for one lime or lemon but they go bad ridiculously fast here. I usually have to use them within 48 hours of purchase or risk having an leathery textured fruit.  Since I only go to the store once or twice a week this can present a problem, but I have found a way to fix it…juicing.   Kudra told me about this years ago but it wasn’t until we got here that I did it regularly. She also likes to freeze her homemade pesto and use small cubes of lemon juice in her iced tea.

If you have a problem with keeping fresh citrus and want to save a few pennies do this:

Buy a bag of limes and or lemons (I get mine from Costco and its like $6 for over two dozen limes, much better than the $.69 ea I pay at the store)

Zest the citrus and seal it into a freezer bag-be sure to get as much air out as possible.

Juice the citrus and pour into ice cube trays.  Be sure to measure how much of your lime or lemon goes into a cube because a lot of recipes call for the juice of one lime or lemon, not a volume measurement.

Freeze the bag and the trays.

Once the juice cubes are frozen put them into a freezer safe zip lock baggy.  Please remember label the outside of the bag, it my be hard to tell them apart once they are in identical baggies.  You could also put them in different ice cube trays.  For example I use the large 1x1x1 tray for the lemons and my Tiki tray for the limes if I am juicing them around the same time.

Juicing limes

4 thoughts on “NH Tip: Citrus On Hand

  1. I remember when we moved from California to Colorado. There was such a change in the produce section of the grocery store. I didn’t realize how spoiled i was. On my way to school I would walk by an orange farm and we helped ourselves. Everything was plentiful. I was sad when they mowed down the strawberry field near us for a bowling alley. Good tips

  2. I’ve heard people say that they freeze fresh herbs into olive oil or butter but I’ve never tried it. Supposedly it works best with the tougher hard herbs such as rosemary, sage, thyme, and oregano. These are all herbs that would probably be cooked when added to a dish and you can just toss a cube into a stock pot or sautee pan. Also, I recently found these tiny 1/2 cubes of minced ginger and garlic at Fresh & Easy. They’re my new favorite thing for stirfry. http://mydorot.com/

Leave a Reply

