Christmas Recap

I hope you all a happy Christmas Day, whether you celebrate it or not.

We had a lovely and quiet day, I was am thankful for the whole experience.  A couple we are friends with (haven’t come up a cute code name for them yet) joined us for dinner and we got to enjoy the holiday in our new home.  We had bought a local turkey around Thanksgiving but decided to freeze it for Christmas.  The wait was worth it.

is it me or did it look extremely relaxed in fridge?

is it me or did it look very relaxed in the fridge?

In the morning John and woke and exchanged gifts, Hitch played with the wrapping paper for a little while, and we listened to music and hung out around the house until our friends came over.  John had brined the turkey overnight and since it was a smaller bird (under 10 lbs) it didn’t take all of our attention and the whole day to cook.

cooked turkey 2013

The turkey was amazing, the best I have ever had.  It was juicy and flavorful, it took a lot of self control not to just have that on my plate.  Tonight we are having leftovers with some sautéed kale and I can hardly wait.  We also plan to use the bones for stock and maybe use that for some risotto later in the week.  Man, I am making myself hungry again.

We are still under the one year mark for living here, so this was our first Christmas out here. I worried that like with Thanksgiving (which is post I never published) that it might be melancholy; but maybe because we had more control and it was our plans for the holiday I didn’t feel like that at all.  We had a great time with our friends and there was lots of laughing and great food.  I spoke to my sister a few times (my parents too) and I got lots of e-card love from my aunts out West.  We even got to show our friends the first half of A Christmas Story for the first time and they loved it!  Maybe like with marriage, the first year of living somewhere can be the most difficult to find your own groove in.  Traditions and habits haven’t been cemented into our minds yet so it feels like a free for all, but maybe if we just go with the things that make happy and most comfortable we might just find your groove.

3 thoughts on “Christmas Recap

  1. Glad that you had a happy Christmas! We’ve also had to adjust to holidays in a new place (we moved here not knowing a soul) and it can be tough. It makes you understand what holidays are really about… not the food and the gifts and the preparation; but being with people you care about. I don’t think I understood that before.

Leave a Reply

