Knitters Knit

I am not much of a hobby person.  Every once in a while I will dabble in painting, but it is usually because I have gone to a museum and have become inspired.  It occurred to me that since we will actually have ugly days that I will not want to go out into, that I should pick up a practical hobby to keep my hands and mind busy.  I picked knitting.  I began in mid-September with a book and while it helped me to a point I had to use YouTube a few times to figure out what the author was conveying in her step by step pictures.  YouTube, I am sad to say did help a lot and like many I have become a bit of an addict.  As the saying goes whenever I’ve been sitting, I’ve been knitting.  I even knit in the car when I drive in with John, only when I am the passenger of course.  I have tried and failed at a few projects but I have kept on going.  I still don’t like the way my purl looks but I have been keeping it simple because I have project and a deadline.

Since there are over a dozen relatives out here and Christmas is just around the corner, I figured I would knit a scarf for each of them.  So far I have completed almost of seven of them, with many having been pulled down to their last stitch because of an egregious mistake or awkward width. With practice, my mistakes have been less frequent. That number includes my first one which John claimed.

One of these days I will knit one for myself too.

I think I will make my Christmas deadline with time to spare so I might start knitting some more light weight scarves for the SoCal family too, if I don’t loose feeling in my hands by then.  I really enjoy knitting but unfortunately it has cut into the other past times I enjoy like reading and writing, but I am getting better.  I am not binge knitting all day and I have been starting to read at night again instead of getting a few more inches in before bedtime.  Oh my, that unintentionally sounded naughty.  Oops!

Of course occasionally I do question my sanity for picking up this hobby just a few weeks after adopting a kitten.  Every so often we have an incident but for the most part that cats are pretty well behaved considering the amount of yarn that’s been around.

Hitch & StitchMy problem is that they are more interested in chewing on the needles than running off with the yarn.  My cats are weird.

My grandma was in town recently and enjoyed watching me knit stitch to my heart’s content.   She also was a knitter, it used to be you knew you were a member of the family when Grandma knitted you an afghan.  She made close to 50 over the years.  Grandma was happy to see that at least one of her Baker’s Dozen grandkids was picking it up.  I will make her a scarf, even if I can’t get to everyone out on the West Coast.

It’s been fun choosing certain colors for certain people, with my limited knowledge of them.  I have started a new thing where I walk to my nearest yarn store and pick up only one ball at a time.  It is a three mile round trip walk so I figure it counteracts the time I will be sitting on my ass knitting with the thing.  So far this process has slowed me down a bit, but I don’t feel like such a slug so I am going to keep on doing it.  I’ll let you know about my progress and of course show you the pile of finished scarves when I’m done.

 

2 thoughts on “Knitters Knit

  1. My mom tried to teach me knitting years ago, but I have awkward fingers. You should see me eat with chop sticks. I stab a lot of the bigger food items. I think knitting would be relaxing and useful. And my cat, Atticus, would bite the needles as well. He loves to chop things, especially my expensive computer cord. Happy knitting!

    • Thanks! Knitting is very repetitive and once it clicks, it’s there to stay. I have awkward fingers, toes, and feet and I figured it out in a few sittings. Give it another try if you like. We’ve had jokes about pulling out the knitting needles while at sushi, the thicker ones might make it interesting. I love my cats but they are like Atticus, anything of value or necessity is the most wonderful toy in the world. =)

Leave a Reply

