A Fair Day

Last weekend Honey and I went to the San Diego Del Mar Fair with our friends Boxer and T (for any person that lived in the SD area for any substantial amount of time prior to 2002 it is still the Del Mar Fair).  The theme this year was “Out of This World”, so we saw little alien and space things sprinkled throughout the day.  It has almost been ten years since my trip there and it’s not for lack of convenience, I used to live within walking distance and usually went one to two times a season.  I didn’t go for the usual reasons, lack of time or money, but really it was just not a priority.  For the last couple of yearswe had have tried to make it a priority but we always ended up backing out, it is ironic that we chose this year to go because now we don’t have the “free parking” at my parent’s place since they moved.  Boxer was kind enough to pick up our tickets at Costco (great deal) and I offered to drive.  From living in the area I know how bad the Fair traffic gets. Cars backed up for over a mile on the 5 in each direction, people never liking the lane that they are in and having to deal with parking in a dirt lot where you know the riled up teenagers will probably attempt donuts in the evening hours.  Damn, I am getting old.

So we arrived at what we thought was 15 minutes before opening, the sky was dark and overcast a perfect “June Gloom” day.  I braced myself mentally when we exited onto Via De La Villa, my foot ready to switch the brake and a milliseconds notice, but what was this?  We sailed through each intersection and into the paved parking lot, we could even see the entrance from our parking space!  We got in line (which was only about 30 people deep) and waited for the gates to open.  Turns out someone (I’m not saying who-and no it was not me) read the opening time wrong and we still had an hour to go.  To be honest I didn’t mind, we stood there talked, we got through security in less than five minutes, and we were some of the first people to go in.

I have never seen the fair so empty! Not even on a weekday.  This continued throughout the day, there were people of course but not the usual sea of people that are usually around on the first Saturday.  For you San Diegans I’ll put it this way, the line for the Ferris Wheel was six people deep at sunset. The morning marine layer faded and gave us a sunny but cool day.  In the past I have primarily gone to Fair for the rides and funnel cake, this year I was with a new crowd and they showed me all the other parts of the fair.  We began at the Botanical exhibit which seemed smaller to all of us (I thought it was just because I was taller). It has changed a lot because of the the increasing trend of water tolerant gardens, but we still got some fun ideas. Then off to the animal section so Honey could see the farm animals.  It also seemed a lot smaller than normal, though we did see llamas, pigs, sheep, cows, a couple of chickens, goats, and more importantly baby goats (so friggin’ cute, and I got to pet one!).  He has at times brought up in all seriousness his desire for having chickens as pets and I think he was hoping that if I saw some nice show chickens I would be more on board with the idea, but we had come on the pigeon week instead of the chicken week.  So we saw some unusual looking pigeons o_O

Baby Goat, sooo cute!

Then off to the dog show, where Boxer and T stayed for several hours but we wandered and ate.  Yes I will admit I had some junk food there.  Every year the Fair tries to outdo itself by finding something new to deep fry, this year I think it was a Peanut Butter and Jelly sandwich; and while I did have some friend things (3 mozzarella sticks and half of a  funnel cake),  I did not partake of the deep fried stick of butter and or the deep fried Kool Aid. Gross! The other big item was Red Velvet Funnel Cake, which Boxer picked up.  Here’s a tip: it tastes like funnel cake with red dye, they also spooge a big dollop of cream cheese on the top without letting you know.  Not cream cheese frosting, just cream cheese.

I also went on a few rides in the “Fun Zone”, Honey watched patiently from the ground (and even held my purse the sweetie) but he would not go on the rides.  To me this seems unthinkable, how can you go to a Fair and not go on the rides? But when we arrived to the “Fun Zone” I had difficulty finding my favorite rides.  I was sure I was out of practice because everything looked a little (dare I date myself) Xtreme!  Not only would these rides loop you around, it would spin you upside down from 50′ up.  Now I’m no wimp, every year I tried to go on something new that scared me, but this year everything scared me.  I wanted to go on the swing ride, the one that spins you around and gradually gets taller.  I saw one and it had the passengers really high up- like rivaling the Ferris Wheel tall.  I’m old, I know.  I eventually saw the swing ride that I remembered enjoying a few years back.  I walked up with my tickets until I saw a sign that made me make  a beeline back to Honey,  it had came from Neverland Ranch. No thanks, kinda creepy.  Eventually I went on a few rides that got my heart going, not the really tall ones but things that had names like G Force.  Of course I realized it was not the actual rides that were frightening me, it was the creaks and jolts that the ride was making.  I was so scared I was going to fall to my death in some freak amusement ride accident but I kept on going until I ran out of tickets, no way am I too old for the “Fun Zone”.  Honey watched (and probably prayed) from the ground, he also declined to go on Ferris Wheel with me so I went with Boxer.  His girlfriend T didn’t want to go either, so we took pictures of each other crying because we each were “abandoned by our other” and then we text messaged it down to Honey and T.  I would post the picture of Boxer, but taken out of context it looks awful.

They did miss out on this view

Though the fair has changed for us, we stil had a great time and a lot of uncontrollable laughter. It was a sort of a mark of time for me.  I went there as a teenager and young adult, I would have never thought to look at any of the exhibits or go and see farm animals, but I am really happy I went with people that showed me more of something I thought I knew.  Here is my favorite picture of the day, it was accidental, I was just trying to get a picture of the ferris wheel and I got this.  I am calling it A Walk in the Fun Zone.

P.S.  If you want some entertainment go into the Home and Hobby exhibit and see the freakish things people collect.

2 thoughts on “A Fair Day

  1. Whew…for a second I thought you would skip the funnel cake. I have not been able to have a funnel cake since I moved from Colorado. If you are in Boston and they advertise a funnel cake, don’t be fooled. It is an impostor. Don’t do it!!!!

    I kinda miss June Gloom days. I was thinking the other day that I rarely see fog and I live in London! Of course the Industrial Revolution is over here so most of the fog is gone. But I kinda feel like Charles Dickens lied.

Leave a Reply

