A Very, Very Late Mother’s Day Post

During Mother’s Day this year I had my mother, Honey’s mother, and Jen over for lunch.  I made a combination of my mother’s enchilada recipe with Honey’s red sauce.  I tried to incorporate all of the “mothers” I had had in my life into the meal.  Mom’s recipe, Grandma B’s table cloth, my late grandmother’s Iced Tea (which my mom thoroughly enjoyed), with some Australian wine for my mother-in-law.  Due to time limitations and the fact we still had a bunch of wine left from BevMo’s $.05 Sale we chose something we already had to serve with lunch, which H’s Mom loved.

I had made the enchilada’s a few weeks earlier for when we had some neighbor on Cinco de Mayo, it was a hit and when I asked if he would mind if I made again I received no objections.  My mom used to make this every year for dinner on Christmas Eve.  It was a filling and simple dish, so I’m sure it was a nice break in cooking from the holiday feasts.  Her recipe called for a store bought sauce, which I grew up with and associated with the taste but since I like to take things to the next level in cooking now, I asked him for a recipe he found a long time ago.  I thought making the sauce from scratch would be complicated, but it wasn’t!  It takes a little more time but it is so worth it, and the cost is similar to the store bought.  So here are the recipes for you:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Red Enchilada Sauce:

Ingredients

12 Dried Red Chilies

3 Tbsp oil (I used olive)

1/4 cup Garlic Paste (I used they kind the keep in the produce section, that is refrigerated)

3 Tbsp Flour

1/2 tsp salt

You Will Need:

a pot for 2 qts boiling water

a blender

a skillet

a medium size bowl

Directions:

1. Rinse chiles in cold water & remove stems. (I also remove a good portion of seeds, because I am a spice whimp)

2. Cook in 2 qts of boiling water for 15 minutes.  Do not drain the water, you will need it.

3.Remove a few chiles (I did 3) and place in blender with 1/2 cup of the water the chilies cooked in.  Blend to a paste and empty into your medium size bowl.  Repeat until all chilies are blended.

4. Heat oil in the skillet on medium high level.  Add the garlic paste & flour, stirring until the flour browns.

5.  Add the chili paste, stir continuously until it boils and thickens. Season with salt.  Thin with cooking liquid if you need to (I don’t).  Turn off the heat and start making the enchiladas.

Mom’s Cheese Enchilada Recipe:

Ingredients:

12 Corn Tortillas

1 1/2 lbs Cheddar Cheese (or use the Mexican Cheese mix)

1 medium onion, chopped

1 small can of chopped black olives

 Enchilada Sauce from above still in skillet 

You Will Need: 

2-3 qt baking dish

3 qt mixing bowl

microwave (optional)

cheese grater

paper towel

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

2. Chop the onion, grate the cheese.

3.  Mix the cheese, onion, and drained olives into a 3 qt mixing bowl.

4. Microwave the corn tortillas per package directions.  My mom took four tortillas put them on a dinner plate with a wet paper towel wrapped around them and zapped them for 40 seconds.  I do not have a microwave so I put them all on a dinner plate with a wet towel in the preheating oven for three minutes.

5.  Dip warmed tortillas in the red enchilada sauce, so it is completely coated.  Place in baking dish, take a spoon and add 2-3 tbsp of the cheese mixture to the inside of the tortilla and roll it up.  I put an unused measuring cup up to the side to keep it from unrolling.  Repeat until all tortillas are used and the dish is full.

6. Pour the remaining sauce over the rolled up tortillas, then cover in the remaining cheese mixture.

7. Bake at 325 for at least 20 minutes (I like my well baked, so I put in for at least 26 minutes).

8.  Enjoy!

One thought on “A Very, Very Late Mother’s Day Post

Leave a Reply

