Touring the Gardens

I’ve been busy with school, the yard, and entertaining so my entries have been delayed and then eventually oudated.  I want to rectify this, so you all will be seeing multiple entries for the next few days.

First off let me start with the garden.  I have been wielding my ax again and the yard is looking better by the day.  Last week I took out a decrepit  Bird of Paradise (which I believed housed Aragog from Harry Potter) and two old palm stumps from many years ago.  Yesterday I removed the remaining two small palms and a few more rogue tree roots.  I also took out some establish weed beds and covered the ugly chain-linked fence with reed fencing. It ain’t perfect, but it is a vast improvement.  We had to put up chicken wire to protect the ground  from pawing cats and menacing birds, o now I know how to safely use wire cutters.  John has been terracing the slop from where the old patio was to make room for our growing vegetables.  We now have tomatoes cucumbers, pumpkins, various peppers, soy beans, and Ying Yang beans.   

I have been calling him Farmer John, which I think he secretly likes.  He has taken to (as we call it) “touring the gardens” twice a day.  Before he leaves for work he goes to the lower yard to see their growth from the day before and he makes sure no evil slugs have penetrated the copper halos around the seedlings.  It is also the first thing he does when he gets home from work (after hugging and kissing me hello-of course).  He finds the lower yard very soothing and it helps him to have good bookends to his workday, which makes me feel very accomplished in my landscaping.

The flowers have also been doing well even though the heat is steadily increasing around here to make summer.  John’s red roses, that were planted just a few months ago have bloomed, while my white roses still have yet to show a bud.  I still haven’t figured out how to dress up the patio area but for now it is a nice place to sit.  That is, if I can get John to sit still on the weekends. I want him to sit in the garden to relax and he wants to relax by digging more trenches for seeds.  What am I gonna do with that guy? 😉

Herbs on the patio

Leave a Reply

