…The Meat Loaf

It’s Sunday Night again, which means I am making a meal that will not only feed us tonight but also tomorrow night (and possibly lunch).  This is so Honey and I have food waiting for us when we get home Monday night.  Tomorrow I have my step aerobic, jogging, and weight training classes and  don’t get home until later.  He has offered to cook on the nights I have school, but I declined.  It is nice not having the pressure of rushing home and showering so I am at the table at a certain time.  He can eat whenever he wants to and so can I. All kinds of WIN.

I have been shamefully tardy on posting this recipe but I wanted to supply pictures as I made it.  I attempted it a few times, but never found the right “angles”.  Then I realized that while this particular meal is delicious it is not pretty to look at it.  I am speaking of course of the loved, the feared, the American Staple of the dinner table…the Meat Loaf.

I got the base of this recipe out of Better Homes and Gardens Cook Book.  There is a little icon next to the recipe that says “Best Loved” =O.  Um yeah, I don’t know how the votes were tallied on this one, but the people that love it must love themselves some bland food.  I will write the original measurements but put my portions of seasonings next to it.  So here we go.

Prep: 20 minutes Bake: 1 hour 20 minutes Stand: 10 minutes Oven: 350° F

Ingredients:

2 Beaten Eggs

3/4 cup of Milk

2/3 cup fine dry bread crumbs

1/4 cup finely chopped onion (I use an over flowing cup of chopped, not finely, onion)

2 tbsp snipped fresh parsley (optional in my opinion)

1 tsp Salt (I agree)

1/2 tsp dried Sage Leaf, Basil or Oregano, crushed (I prefer basil on red meat, and I use at least a full tsp)

1.5 lbs Ground Beef

1/4 cup catsup (I use almost 1/2 cup because my loaf is a little larger and I like to make sure it’s covered)

2 tbsp Brown Sugar (I don’t add anymore, that is plenty-besides there is enough sugar in catsup)

1 tsp dry mustard

1/8 tsp Black Pepper (WTF?!? is that even a measurement, I’ll tell you how much later)

(I also use Garlic Powder, amount is up to you)

1. In a bowl combine (beaten)eggs and milk; stir in bread crumbs, onion, parsley, salt, sage/basil/or oregano (try the basil, trust me), and …(now eye that mixture and grind up as much pepper as you think that mixture can take).  Stir it all together.

2. Now put in the ground beef.  IF YOU WANT TO USE GARLIC POWDER, DO NOT MIX IN MEAT YET.  With the ground meat laying on top of the mixture sprinkle garlic powder directly onto the meat (I think it will season the meat more than putting it in the mixture).  Now mix the meat in.

3. Lightly pat mixture into an 8x4x2 inch loaf pan.  If you do not have a loaf pan, put aluminum foil on a large (cookie sheet size) baking pan with raised sides and mold the mixture into a loaf shape (that’s what I do).

4. Bake at 350º for 1 to 1 1/4 hours or until eternal temperature registers 160º.  Spoon off any fat.

5. In a bowl mix catsup, mustard, and brown sugar.  Spread over meat and cook for ten more minutes.

6. Let stand for ten minutes before serving.

I found I do this recipe a little different each time.  Play with the measurements, find out what tastes good to you in this ugly, yet delicious meat dish.  And don’t forget 1/8 tsp is NOT a measurement.  (Unless we’re talking arsenic, and in that case you found the wrong blog.)

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

