Early to Bed, Early to Rise…

Lately we have adopted a new sleeping schedule during the week.  We head to bed at 9 pm then read (or something) until 10 pm.  Our dueling alarms sound off at 6 am, and Bailey chimes in with yowling or repeated head-butting around 6:04 am if we have not stirred to his liking.  It use to be that if the alarms did not go off, for example on the weekend, the cats would give us me a little extra time to sleep, say until 7 am.  Not anymore.  Bailey demands his breakfast at 6am, no matter the day, weather conditions, or nationally observed holiday status.  Hence why I am awake now.  Now that he is the only cat, less food gets put into the bowl, and now it is the weight control kind.  He is not pleased.

It’s funny that the writer of another blog I follow just recently reviewed Goodfellas, because with the way Bailey gets in the morning a certain movie scene popped in my head a few weeks back. For those that have not seen the movie our main character wakes up to a huge ass revolver in his face, held by his wife.  That is how I feel when Bailey angrily meows at me when I wake up, because until he loses some pounds he could still hut us.  He’s threatened to break my ribs a few times by stepping on them. Aw, our little gangster.

Besides Bailey’s hunger issues I have enjoyed getting to bed earlier and having a set time to read.  John had been blazing through my Stieg Larsson books while I have been trotting away on Neil Giaman’s American Gods on his Kindle.  I am still not use to that thing.  I like the concept of this space saving electronic device but I don’t like the the intangible nature of it.  For example I am 90% done with the book and I put it down last night!  I am not getting that feeling of the 10-15 pages pinched between the fingers of my right hand enticing me to to keep on going.  It is just a number at the bottom of the page, a percentage at that-not even a whole number.   I am already 30% along the way to adapting. =P

4 thoughts on “Early to Bed, Early to Rise…

  1. I am also trying to adjust my sleeping pattern to be more productive. And my cat Atticus likes to have his breakfast as early as possible as well. Too funny!

    I’ve only read the first two Larsson books. How’s the third one? And someone told me recently to read American Gods. Is it good?

    Love the description of Bailey in the morning! Cats do have a way of getting their point across.

  2. What a great name for a cat 🙂

    To be honest I never finished the third book, I had a hard time getting into it. But I made the mistake of seeing both movies before I started the third book and I think it spoiled it for me.
    I enjoyed American Gods, it made me laugh out loud a few times and made me want to do a little research (I won’t give away why). It is hitting its 10 year anniversary and I hear they are finally going into production for a mini-series on HBO. Read it before it comes out. I think you might also like it before your big move, the difference of America to the Old Country-written by an English writer who now lives in America. Just a thought.

  3. Thanks. Atticus is named after Atticus Finch in To Kill a Mockingbird. I’m a nerd.

    I wasn’t too thrilled with the second one so I’ve waited on the third of the Larsson books. I’ll have to look into American Gods though. I’m trying to read more English writers. And I would like to read it before the miniseries. However I don’t know if I’ll get HBO in London. I”m finding out things are much more expensive so cable might be out. But I hear the BBC is quite entertaining.

    Thanks for the tips. Give Bailey a pat for me!

Leave a Reply

